Denise Broy Scholarship for Excellence Fund

Established in 2008 in honor of Denise Broy, the Denise Broy Scholarship for Excellence will be awarded annually. The scholarship award may be applied toward tuition, fees and/or books and will be divided equally between two semesters.To be eligible to receive the award for the spring semester, you must maintain a minimum GPA of 3.0 in the fall semester.

Until she retired in December 2008 as the supervisor of the Printing Services Office of the Office of College Advancement, Denise had been employed at the College for more than 30 years. Denise began her career in 1977, when she was hired for a clerk-typist A position within the Personnel Office via the federally-funded Comprehensive Employment and Training Program. In 1979, Denise was hired as a full-time employee and assigned to the Word Processing Office (now known as Printing Services). Over the years, Denise had various job titles (Offset Duplication Machine Operator, Printing Press Operator, Printing Technician and Printing Services Supervisor), but one thing has remained constant. Denise always provided excellent customer service to those with binding, copying and printing needs. During her tenure at the College, Denise led the efforts to obtain new, state-of-the-art copying and printing equipment, which provided many cutting-edge services to College employees. In addition, Denise established a formal request process, a job tracking system, an inventory method and other procedures that have helped make Printing Services one of the most efficiently run copy and print shops within the Virginia Community College System. Sadly, Denise passed away on May 16, 2010.

The scholarship will be awarded to students who meet the following criteria:

  • Must complete a scholarship application
  • Must be a full-time and/or part-time student
  • Must demonstrate financial need
  • Must have and maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.0
  • Must reside in Shenandoah County
  • Preference: Be a single parent

Denise Broy Scholarship for Excellence